top button

What is Defect Life Cycle ?

+1 vote
posted Oct 23, 2018 by Arunkumaarts

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

+1 vote
Best answer
  • A Defect life cycle, also known as a Bug life cycle, is a cycle of a defect from which it goes through covering the different states in its entire life. This starts as soon as any new defect is found by a tester and comes to an end when a tester closes that defect assuring that it won’t get reproduced again.

1) New: This is the first state of a defect in the defect life cycle. When any new defect is found, it falls in a ‘New’ state and validations and testing are performed on this defect in the later stages of the defect life cycle.

2) Assigned: In this stage, a newly created defect is assigned to the development team for working on the defect. This is assigned by the project lead or the manager of the testing team to a developer.

3) Open: Here, the developer starts the process of analyzing the defect and works on fixing it, if required. If the developer feels that the defect is not appropriate then it may get transferred to any of the below four states namely Duplicate, Deferred, Rejected or Not a Bug-based upon the specific reason.

4) Fixed: When the developer finishes the task of fixing a defect by making the required changes then he can mark the status of the defect as ‘Fixed’.

5) Pending Retest: After fixing the defect, the developer assigns the defect to the tester for retesting the defect at their end and till the tester works on retesting the defect, the state of the defect remains in ‘Pending Retest’.

6) Retest: At this point, the tester starts the task of working on the retesting of the defect to verify if the defect is fixed accurately by the developer as per the requirements or not.

7) Reopen: If any issue still persists in the defect then it will be assigned to the developer again for testing and the status of the defect gets changed to ‘Reopen’.

8) Verified: If the tester does not find any issue in the defect after being assigned to the developer for retesting and he feels that if the defect has been fixed accurately then the status of the defect gets assigned to ‘Verified’.

9) Closed: When the defect does not exist any longer then the tester changes the status of the defect to ‘Closed’.

Rejected: If the defect is not considered as a genuine defect by the developer then it is marked as ‘Rejected’ by the developer.

Duplicate: If the developer finds the defect as same as any other defect or if the concept of the defect matches with any other defect then the status of the defect is changed to ‘Duplicate’ by the developer.

Deferred: If the developer feels that the defect is not of very important priority and it can get fixed in the next releases or so in such a case, he can change the status of the defect as ‘Deferred’.

Not a Bug: If the defect does not have an impact on the functionality of the application then the status of the defect gets changed to ‘Not a Bug’.

answer Oct 23, 2018 by Bhumika Prajapati